Gallantry Award Winners

Maj. Sudhir Walia (School Roll No 27) of 9 Para Commando made the supreme sacrifice while repulsing insurgents in the Kupwara sector of J&K on Aug 29, 1999 during Operation Rakshak. He was seriously injured by the militants’ bullets but kept fightin till he breathed his last. He killed 04 insurgents and was awarded Ashok Chakra (posthumously) for his bravery.


Sub (Retd) Shri Rulia Ram receiving “Ashok-Chakra” (Posthumously) for his brave son Maj Sudhir Walia from His Excellency, Shri KR Narayanan, the then President of India.


On 20th June 1999, Captain Sanjeev Singh Jamwal, (School Roll No 494) led the first assault on ‘Sangar’ on Point 5140. He single handedly killed three enemy personnel and was instrumental in the successful capture of Point 5140. Captain Sanjeev Singh Jamwal displayed remarkable qualities of leadership in battle and boundless courage during the close quarter battle with the enemy and was awarded Vir Chakra.

Our Award Winners

1. Maj Virender Dhatwalia (School R.No. 91) Shaurya Chakra, Operation Rakshak
2. Lt Cdr Tilak Raj (School R.No.119) Nau Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
3. Maj Digvijay Singh Patial (School R.No. 107) Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
4. Maj Ravinder Singh Bhardwaj (School R.No. 197) Sena Medal, Operation Meghdoot
5. Maj Anil Rana (School R.No. 81) Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
6. Capt Rakesh Madaan (School R.No. 949) Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
7. Capt Ashutosh Kanwar Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
8. Capt Kulbhushan Khanuria Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
9. Capt Rajneesh Bahari Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
10. Maj Amit Kanwar (School R.No. 919)

Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak

11. Maj Yograj Pathak
Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
12. Maj DS Patial Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak
Lt Col Ranjan Mahajan
Sena Medal, Operation Rakshak

LT Pawan Dutt (School Roll No 196) was awarded President Gold Medal in June 1991 for being the best overall cadet of passing out course at IMA

BCC Rishikeshwar Rana (school roll No. 1243 ) was adjudged the Best Sportsman and the Best in OLQ in the Passing Out Course at NDA in Jun 2004.

ACC Pankaj Dhiman (school roll no. 1115) was awarded President Gold Medal in Dec 2004 for being the Best Overall Cadet in NDA.

Lt Ashwani Sudyal The “Sword of Honour” was awarded to Academy Under Officer Ashwani Sudyal (school roll No. 1154, School Vice-Captain , SSST) in Jun 2005 and became the recipient of the Gold Medal.

Lt Nitin Kaushal (Rno 1292) was the first medical cadet in the history of AFMC to command the passing out parade on March 5th 2008.

Col Kuljeet Singh (School roll no 194) is the first commanding officer of this institution to command one of the finest battalion of the Indian Army - 6th Battalion the Dogra Regiment.

Capt Ekshita Rana : First girl cadet of SSST and the youngest officer to pass out from OTA.